KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Support for JLM Audio Kits

Moderator: Joe Malone

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Wed Oct 31, 2012 9:55 pm

NEW KRAFTWERK 5 rail super power supply kit powers up to 2 x 11 way 500 racks or 2 x 51X racks loaded with 11 x 500 & 11 x 51X Modules. Kraftwerk has tracking and auto shutdown for each +/-V1 & +/-V2 pair of power rails. So +/- rails power up and shutdown together minimizing thumps and pops in any audio equipment it is powering. Also if a fault over currents and shuts down a power rail the other power rail will shut down in sync protecting expensive DOA and DIP8 opamps from internal latch up which can kill opamps. Uses silicon tubes on regs and 4 x 5mm bolts to locate PCB and hold the regs firm to the heatsink. So no white bush and hole burr cutting silicon pad problems. Can be quick released from heatsink in seconds for any maintenance. Fits on back or front or inside 2 rack unit high cases. Kraftwerk kit is PCB + all PCB parts. Heatsink is optional extra.

Image

KRAFTWERK PCB is ROHS GOLD HASL PLATED with thick copper. Measuring 121mm (4.76") x 59.5mm (2.34")
Image

Features

5 power rails. (3 positive and 2 negative @ 1.5Amp each)
26400uF (13200uF per +/-rail) Super smoothing cap bank.
+/-V1 & +/-V2 tracking. (eg the +/-V1 & +/-V2 power rails will track each other while powering up or down within +/-0.3v stopping most thumps and pops)
+/-V1 & +/-V2 auto shutdown. (eg if the +16v goes into protect and shuts down it will put down the -16v automatically as well and vica versa)
KRAFTWERK PCB is ROHS GOLD HASL PLATED with thick copper.
KRAFTWERK PCB measuring a tiny 121mm (4.76") x 59.5mm (2.34")

Kraftwerk Parts List here
Kraftwerk Schematic here

Build Tips
1. Kraftwerk kit builds just like our normal PowerStation kit from lowest height component to highest with the exception of the regulators mounting under the PCB with silicon tube covers.
2. When setting voltages with trimpots on +/-V1 and +/-V2 the 2 computer jumpers V1 & V2 should be fitted to disable the tracking feature. Remove jumpers when finished to activate tracking.
3. Also for most high current work I recommend remote mounting the bridge rectifier away from the PCB on a metal chassis or heatsink as it is by far the hottest component on the PCB.
(If mounting bridge rectifier on the PCB mount it high up leaving as much lead length as possible as this acts as extra heatsinking. Like shown in the photos on this page)
4. If adding the +V1 to +V2 to make 3A power rail set both rails to the same voltage and mix the 2 rails together with 2 x 0.22R 5W resistors. Same works for the 2 negative rails.
5. I recommend as well as correct mains fuse before the primary of the power transformer to also use 2 x 3Amp Slow blow fuses inline with secondary of the power transformer and each AC in.

Kraftwerk can be configured for below and many other combinations.

500 series only to provide +16vdc @ 3Amp / -16vdc @ 3Amp and +48vdc @ 400mA using a 2 x 18vac 160VA to 225VA.
2 x 11 way 500 racks
Transformer to use
RS Components 671-9157 160VA (115/230vac) $47AUD
RS Components 671-9016 160VA (230vac only) $46AUD

500/51X series to provide +16vdc @ 1.5Amp / -16vdc @ 1.5Amp and +24vdc @ 1.5Amp / -24vdc @ 1.5Amp and +48vdc @ 400mA using a 2 x 22vac 225VA to 300VA.
2 x 11 way 51X racks half load with 500 and half loaded with 51X modules.
Transformer to use
RS Components 671-9173 225VA (115/230vac) $56AUD
RS Components 671-9047 225VA (230vac only) $55AUD

51X series to provide +24vdc @ 3Amp / -24vdc @ 3Amp and +48vdc @ 400mA using a 2 x 22vac 225VA to 300VA.
2 x 11 way 51X with 51X +/-24v modules only
Transformer to use
RS Components 671-9173 225VA (115/230vac) $56AUD
RS Components 671-9047 225VA (230vac only) $55AUD

1 x 11 way 500 rack +/-16v @ 1.5A 80VA 2 x 18vac toroid.
RS Components 671-9139 120VA (115/230vac) $37AUD
RS Components 671-9003 120VA (230vac only) $36AUD

1 x 11 way 51X rack +/-16v & +/-24v @ combined total 1.5A = 120VA 2 x 22vac to 2 x 25vac toroid.
RS Components 671-9148 120VA (115/230vac) $37AUD
RS Components 671-9006 120VA (230vac only) $36AUD


Optional Kraftwerk Heatsink is 150mm wide x 75mm high x 38mm deep. Made to fit on back, front or inside 2 unit high rack cases.

Image
Image
Image
Image

If NOT using the negative rails the below parts can be left off the Kraftwerk PCB
Q1, Q2 - BC546
Q3, Q4 - BC556
REG4, REG5 - LM337
D15, D16, D17, D18 - 1N4007
C6A, C6B, C6C, C6D - 3300uF 35v
C13, C14, C15, C16 - 10uF 63v
R9, R11 - 5k trim pot
R10, R11 – 120R
R17, R18, R19, R20 - 1k5
V1, V2 - JUMPER Headers
Joe :-)
JLM Audio
Capturing Audio without Injury

JimiB
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:53 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply Build Thread

Postby JimiB » Mon Nov 05, 2012 2:04 am

Bad Ass!

jean
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:26 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby jean » Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:51 am

Hi Joe,
I just a quick question about the fuse... I almost finished my PSU ( for 1X 511 and I just have built some gears for 24v) so can I use a fuse 2A or I must to put 3A for it?

Thanks for the great projects!

Jean

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Sun Feb 09, 2014 9:01 pm

jean wrote:Hi Joe,
I just a quick question about the fuse... I almost finished my PSU ( for 1X 511 and I just have built some gears for 24v) so can I use a fuse 2A or I must to put 3A for it?

Thanks for the great projects!

Jean


Always best to use the smallest mains fuse value possible for best protection. The limit on how small depends more on the power up surge of the power transformer if the kraftwerk is only powering a couple of modules. So trying 2A or less is fine.
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

jean
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:26 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby jean » Sun Feb 09, 2014 10:37 pm

Thanks Joe!

jean
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:26 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby jean » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:12 pm

Hi Joe,
I'm having an issue with 120R then I changed LM337/317 because trims for +V2 /-V2 don't change anything! I replaced them but it's the same -V2/+V2. I need -/+24V there but I'm getting 3V
Any advice?

Thank you

Jean

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Sat Jun 13, 2015 2:06 pm

jean wrote:Hi Joe,
I'm having an issue with 120R then I changed LM337/317 because trims for +V2 /-V2 don't change anything! I replaced them but it's the same -V2/+V2. I need -/+24V there but I'm getting 3V
Any advice?

Thank you

Jean


What issue are you having with 120R ?
Why did you change LM337/317??
Are LM317 and LM337 in correct positions?
Are all regs in there silicon tubes so they don't short to the case or heatsink?
While setting +/-V2 make sure you have the V2 jumper fitted to override the rail balancing.
Have you got the BC456 and BC556 in the correct positions and correct way around?
What power transformer are you using and how is it wired?

Please answer all above questions and feel free to send me some photos to my email so I can check your build.
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

jean
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2014 9:26 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby jean » Sun Jun 14, 2015 12:23 am

Thanks Joe for the reply.
1. I mistakenly connected the NV73 preamps on the 51X diy box then 120R burned ( 120r 1/4)
2. I changed both LM337/LM317 for measuring -/+24V
3. No ( it was working before just wrong connection NV73)
4. I thought V2 jumper was not using -Voltages? isn't it? (attached two picture)
5. BC456 and BC556 are correct
6. from Volker( attached two photos)

Thanks

Jean

IMG_0579.JPG

IMG_0581.JPG




Joe Malone wrote:
What issue are you having with 120R ?
Why did you change LM337/317??
Are LM317 and LM337 in correct positions?
Are all regs in there silicon tubes so they don't short to the case or heatsink?
While setting +/-V2 make sure you have the V2 jumper fitted to override the rail balancing.
Have you got the BC456 and BC556 in the correct positions and correct way around?
What power transformer are you using and how is it wired?

Please answer all above questions and feel free to send me some photos to my email so I can check your build.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Mon Jun 29, 2015 2:02 pm

[quote="jean"]Thanks Joe for the reply.
1. I mistakenly connected the NV73 preamps on the 51X diy box then 120R burned ( 120r 1/4)
2. I changed both LM337/LM317 for measuring -/+24V
3. No ( it was working before just wrong connection NV73)
4. I thought V2 jumper was not using -Voltages? isn't it? (attached two picture)
5. BC456 and BC556 are correct
6. from Volker( attached two photos)

Did you end up getting this working again ? Since it blew the regs the BC546 and BC556 transistors could be dead short as well. Just remove them and try without them fitted.
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

User avatar
Lowfreq
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 9:21 pm
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Lowfreq » Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:20 am

Does the BC546 have to be a C version? Does the hfe make a difference in this circuit? I'm sourcing the parts myself and I've managed to get some BC556B ok, but places like jaycar seem to only have BC546, & not a BC546C that's specified in the partslist.

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Fri Oct 23, 2015 10:23 am

Lowfreq wrote:Does the BC546 have to be a C version? Does the hfe make a difference in this circuit? I'm sourcing the parts myself and I've managed to get some BC556B ok, but places like jaycar seem to only have BC546, & not a BC546C that's specified in the partslist.


Hi Low Freq. Any version of BC546 will work in there. Same goes for the BC556.
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

Massimoaxl
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:23 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Massimoaxl » Fri Apr 01, 2016 9:40 pm

Hi Joe!
Looking for components i'm gonna order the pcb asap!
Having trouble with the 200V BKU Diode Bridge, can find only KBU it will work?

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Sat Apr 02, 2016 7:51 am

Massimoaxl wrote:Hi Joe!
Looking for components i'm gonna order the pcb asap!
Having trouble with the 200V BKU Diode Bridge, can find only KBU it will work?


As long as it is 10A or more it should work fine. But remember for heavy current load best to mount the bridge off the PCB to the metal case as it gets very hot. So you can use any block type bridge with spade terminals and bolt hole then like the one in our parts section of the web shop.
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

Massimoaxl
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 9:23 am

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Massimoaxl » Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:17 pm

Are you refer to the BR254?

Just curios why you suggest at least 10A, on the bom it's write 8A 200v ? I'm missing something?

User avatar
Joe Malone
Site Admin
Posts: 1580
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:35 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: KRAFTWERK Power Supply BUILD THREAD

Postby Joe Malone » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:35 am

Massimoaxl wrote:Are you refer to the BR254?

Just curios why you suggest at least 10A, on the bom it's write 8A 200v ? I'm missing something?


8A or 10A is fine. The higher the current rating the cooler the bridge.

But if you are loading up to full current remember the bridge will usually be sitting above 100 degrees C if under constant full load so mount it off the Pcb with wires.

We do this with our 25A bridge in the parts section of the store
Joe :-)

JLM Audio

Capturing Audio without Injury

Return to “JLM Audio Kits”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests